Thisara Perera Named Sri Lanka ODI and T20I Captain For India Series

Perera captain Sri Lanka team

Star Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera has been named Sri Lanka’s captain for the three-match ODI series against India. Perera will also lead the team in the three-match T20 international series.

Perera will take over from opening batsman Upul Tharanga whose captaincy record is like a nightmare for Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka lost three 5-0 whitewashes against South Africa, India and Pakistan this year under the captaincy of Upul Tharanga.

Although Tharanga performed well with the bat while captaining the Sri Lankan team. He scores more than 800 runs in 22 ODI with two centuries and five half-centuries. But he was continuously failed to lead Sri Lanka to win in most of the games.

Last month when the third T20I against Pakistan was scheduled to play in Pakistan then Tharanga opted out from the last game due to security concerns. Then Thisara Perera named Sri Lankan team captain for the whole T20I series against Pakistan as Sri Lankan board select one team for the entire T20 series.

Perera was praised for his efforts in that series and that help Sri Lankan selectors to make his mind to make Thisara Perera captain for the limited overs series against India. 

The first of three-match ODI series between India and Sri Lanka will be played on 10 December at Dharamsala.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply