South Africa Thrash Zimbabwe In First Four Day Test Match

South Africa vs Zimbabwe four day test

The historic first ever four-day test match between South Africa and Zimbabwe(also first ever day-night test match in South Africa) starts on boxing day and it ends within two days of the test match as South Africa win the match by an innings and 120 runs.

After winning the toss, South Africa captain AB de Villiers decided to bat first against the weaker attack of Zimbabwe. Both Elger and Markram starts well and put 72 runs for the first wicket. Markram score brilliant 125 runs in 125 balls. Amla departs early for 5 runs, While captain Devellier scores quick 53 runs. Bavuma also played well and score 44 runs.

The South African captain decided to declare on the last session of day one on 309 for the loss of 9 wickets. For Zimbabwe, Jarvis and Mpofu take 3 wickets each while captain Cremer takes two South African wickets. 

After scoring some quick runs, South African bowlers comes hard in the last session and takes 4 wickets under lights. Only Burl and Jarvis score in double-digits. No Zimbabwe batsmen survive against the quality pace attack of South Africa. In the end, Zimbabwe all out on just 68 runs in the first innings. Morne Morkel takes 5 wickets.

Soon after the first innings, South African captain AB Devilliers decided to follow-on Zimbabwe. Masakadza and Chibhabha put 50 plus partnership for the first wicket. But South Africa pace attack was more lethal for Zimbabwe batsmen and at last, Zimbabwe bowled out on 121 runs in their second innings.

South Africa won the first ever four-day test match by an innings and 120 runs and hence won the series. Keshav Maharaj takes 5 wickets in the second innings. Markram won the Man of the Match award for his brilliant century in the first innings.

South Africa next assignment will be against the number 1 team in the test, India. South African captain de Villiers said that his team is ready to take India’s challenge.

Brief Score:

South Africa:

1st Innings: Markram-125, de Villiers-53 | Jarvis-3/57, Mpofu-3/58


1st Innings: Jarvis-23, Burl-16 | Morkel-5/21, Rabada-2/12

2nd Innings: Ervine-23, Cremer-18* | Maharaj-5/59, Phehlukwayo-3/13

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply