Past Year Performance Help Kohli To Dominate ICC Awards

Icc cricketer of the year

The class and performance of Virat Kohli are going to increase with every match and every series. The year 2017 was an outstanding year for Virat Kohli.

Before August 2016, Virat Kohli has no double hundred in the test matches and since then he scored 6 so far. Virat Kohli on Thursday swept ICC Awards as the 29-year won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the World Cricketer of the Year 2017. Apart from the award, the Indian skipper was also named as ICC ODI cricketer of the year 2017 and the captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams. It is the second time Kohli has been named as the ODI cricketer of the year as he won the same honour in 2012 when he was 24 years old.

The award, which was decided for performance based on the period between September 21, 2016, to December 31, 2017, the Indian skipper scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80. The right-handed batsman also scored eight centuries in the time period in the longest format, including 5 double hundreds. In ODIs, Kohli hammered 1,818 ODI runs at an average of 82.63 including seven centuries, and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153. With Kohli as skipper, India went on to register 9 consecutive series win in the longest format.

In the recent ICC test ranking, Virat Kohli earned 900 rating point and thus surpass Sunil Gavaskar to become highest rating point, Indian batsman. He recently scores 153 runs against the lethal bowling attack of South Africa in South Africa.

Apart from Kohli, who was named as the captain for the ODI Team of the year, Rohit Sharma, who smashed a double ton against Sri Lanka in December, becoming the only batsman in the world to have 3 double centuries in the format, was also included in the squad. The only other Indian apart from the two, who made it to the team was seamer Jasprit Bumrah, who took 56 wickets in 31 matches at an average of 22.73 in the year 2017.

Three Indians made it to the 2017 Test team of the year – Ravichandran Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli, who was also named as the captain for the side. Australian skipper Steve Smith bagged the honour of being the Cricketer of the year in the format.

Rising leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was also recognised for his tremendous performance in T20 cricket and his 6-wicket haul against England in Bengaluru was recognised as the ICC T20I Performance of the Year.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply