New Zealand Beat World Champion West Indies In The First T20I

New Zealand won 1st T20I

The format of the game change but not the result. After dominating performance in the test and ODIs, New Zealand again outclass West Indies in the first T20I of the three-match series.

After winning the toss, Windies captain Brathwaite decided to bowl first. Martin Guptill departs early when he scored only 5 runs. But then Munro and wicketkeeper Glenn Phillips score some quick runs for New Zealand. Both batsmen score individual fifty-plus score and put 86 runs partnership for the second wicket.

West Indies bounce back strongly after taking wickets of Phillips and Munro. But the last over of Kesrick William give New Zealand the platform they look for. New Zealand batsmen score 25 runs in the last over of the innings and finally New Zealand score 187 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets. For Windies, Taylor and Brathwaite takes 2 wickets each.

188 was never a small target to chase in T20I. Windies need some efforts from Gayle to chase down this big total. But Walton and Gayle fail to give Windies a good start. Fletcher starts well and scores 27 runs but it was never enough to chase down the big total. No Windies batsmen score big runs and at last, Windies all out on 140 runs and so lost the match by 47 runs.

Glenn Phillips won the Man of the Match award for his 55 runs in 40 balls that included 2 sixes and 4 fours. This was the six consecutive loss for Windies against New Zealand.

The second T20I of the series will be played at Bay Oval in Mount on 1st January 2018.

Brief Score:

New Zealand: Phillips-55, Munro-53 | Brathwaite-2/38, Taylor-2/41

Windies: Fletcher-27, Brathwaite- 21 | Rance-3/30, Southee-3/36


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply