India Win Their First T20I Series Over New Zealand

The third and last T20I of the series won by India by 6 runs. It was a thrilling match full of all actions.

After a long delay by rain, the match finally started with 8 overs for each team. New Zealand captain wins another important toss in a short match and decided to bat first on a Thiruvananthapuram track. New Zealand bowlers bowled beautifully and never allow free runs. India only manages to score 67 runs in their 8 overs. Southee and Sodhi take 2 wickets each. 

In response, India bowlers take their team to the contest. Jaspreet Bumrah and Buvneshwar bowled really well and never allow free runs. After that Chahal bowled really well and gives only 8 runs in his 2 overs. With 18 required in last over, Hardik Pandya had the responsibility to defend the target which he did beautifully. He gives 11 runs in his over which lead India to win the match and the series.

With 2 wickets and 9 runs in his 2 overs, Jaspreet Bumrah won the Man of the Match award. He won the Man of the Series also.

This was the very competitive series as New Zealand playing beautiful cricket throughout the series. This T20I series win means that New Zealand dropped down from number 1 position in T20 international ranking and Pakistan again moves to number 1 position.

India’s next assignment with Sri Lanka starts soon when they meet them on 16th November for the first test match in their own home grounds.



Brief Scores:

India: 67/5 in 8 overs

Manish Pandey 17 off 11 balls, Hardik Pandya 14 off 10

Tim Southee 2/13, Ish Sodhi 2/23

New Zealand: 61/6 in 8 overs

Colin de Grandhomme 17 not out off 10, Glenn Phillips 11 off 9

Jasprit Bumrah 2/9.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply