India To Play 3 Test, 6 ODI and 3T20I In South Africa

In all speculation about India tour of South Africa this December, Cricket South Africa confirms that India will play three Test matches in South Africa this season, the boards of both countries announced on Wednesday.

The 1st Test of three test match series will start in Cape Town on January 5 while the full schedule of the remaining two Tests, as well as six one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals, will be announced later.

Initially, India was scheduled to play four test in South Africa but because of Sri Lanka tour of India, Wednesday’s announcement followed negotiations which have taken place over several months.

Cricket South Africa chief executive Haroon Lorgat admitted it had been necessary “to compromise to some extent” in order to fit in a tour between the end of India’s series against Sri Lanka, ending on December 24, and the start of a Test series between South Africa and Australia starting on March 1.

“The time constraints faced by India have forced us to reduce the Test matches to three while increasing white ball cricket to six ODIs and three T20I matches,” said Lorgat.

The compromise over the India itinerary left a gap for what has become a traditional Boxing Day Test in South Africa.

That gap will be filled by Zimbabwe, who have not played a Test in South Africa since 2004/05.

Lorgat said there were new floodlights at Port Elizabeth’s St George’s Park.

“It will be the first-ever four-day day-night Test match and hopefully we will get International Cricket Council approval at their meeting in October to have an official Test match played over four days.”

Cricket South Africa wanted the first Test against India to start on December 26 but India want to spend time in South Africa after the end of the Sri Lanka series. They will play a two-day practice match in Paarl on December 30 and 31.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply