Dominating India aiming to do best in ODIs

A 3-0 whitewash in test series keeps Indian high on confidence as the 1st One Day International of five match series between India and Sri Lanka starts tomorrow.

India will look to take that momentum into the limited-overs leg of the tour as well. However, India is not treating this as just another bilateral ODI series. Chief selector MSK Prasad clearly outlined this, stressing on the aspect of fitness as Team India begins its preparations for the 2019 ODI World Cup in England.

However, the hosts will once again try to pick themselves up under the leadership of newly appointed skipper – Upul Tharanga, who has taken charge of the Lankan lions after the resignation of long-serving captain, Angelo Mathews. Sri Lanka suffered their maiden one-day international series loss to Zimbabwe last month which was a huge dent in the rich cricketing history of Sri Lankan cricket.

For Sri Lanka, this series is more than just a matter of saving face after their heavy losses in the Test series.

The hosts need two more ODI wins to confirm their spot in the 2019 ODI World Cup by way of automatic qualification.

If they do manage this feat against India in the upcoming series, they will move to 90 points and then West Indies will not be able to overtake them even if they win all the six ODIs against Ireland and England (taking their points from 78 to 88 at best) before the September 30 deadline

If Sri Lanka hopes for a turnaround in the upcoming series against India, they simply should tick all the boxes which they failed to check in the Test series.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (c), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Milinda Siriwardana, Malinda Pushpakumara, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Thisara Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando
India: Virat Kohli(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply